Inspiration: Imagine


So you ask, why start a blog about creativity? The seeds for this started long ago during my first trip to New York City back in the summer of 1994. Being a huge Beatles fan one of my first stops was the area in Central Park known as “Strawberry Fields” which is a memorial to John Lennon with the word Imagine in the middle, located just across the street aways from the Dakota where Lennon lived, and unfortunately died. After spending some time at the memorial I went into a corner bookstore and found a book about the Last years of Lennon’s life.
Imagine

The most compelling part of the book described Lennon’s creative process for his upcoming album “Double Fantasy”. It was surprisingly deliberate and intentional. He first set out to do something he had never done but had dreamed of doing his whole life: go sailing (just a note but it is one of my unfulfilled dreams and is on my bucket list). He put together a crew and set sail for Bermuda learning to sail on the way. In the midst of a serious storm at sea, Lennon proved himself to be a natural born sailor instinctively knowing the way avoid possible disaster. For Lennon it was a freeing and confidence building experience. Arriving in Bermuda, a rented villa awaited him with a full staff to cook and clean for him. The catch: No one was to speak to him and he could not speak to them in return for a solid week. Lennon drank no coffee, cut down his nicotine intake and ate only an organic macrobiotic diet prepared each day by a staff chef. At the end of the silent period Lennon headed out on the town in search of local records made by musicians hugely influenced by the Reggae movement of Bob Marley. After immersing himself in the sounds of the Caribbean he then pulled out the guitar and the note pads and the music simply poured out.

That story stuck with me, mostly because I was stunned at the intent of the process. So years later here I am, with this blog, set to explore all things creative. To give others some tips, tools, techniques and insightful stories like the one above that might prove helpful in someones quest to create. Here’s to the adventure that awaits. I hope you’ll come along for the ride.

4 Comments

  1. Drew, this is a quite a thought-provoking post, and I’m taking a close look at your incubator for the first time (I signed up weeks back when you announced it)…I’m quite inspired, and surprised at how much depth I see here, at how deep you’re digging & re-inventing yourself after the collapse of the Rocky.

    Niiice! These thoughts about Lennon connect for me, I have been telling myself for something like 45 years after the Beatles first hit the airwaves that I’m “someday” going to play guitar & sing. Finally 1-1/2 years ago, I started taking classes at Swallow Hill…and this month I’m beginning to put together my first package of a few songs to polish for perform for others.

    Thank you for your inspiration.

    (PS, are we planning another year for Fraternal Order Of Pigskin FFL? Playing in your 27 leagues…or whatever you number is…surely takes a big precious load of time!)

    Reply

    1. Tom,
      What a terrific comment. Glad to hear that you are following you heart. I hope you’ll continue to visit and even be willing to share more of your story for everyone here. Send me an e-mail at sportoonz@gmail.com with some details. It sounds like your journey would make a great installment for the the site.

      Reply

  2. Wow, amazing weblog structure! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you make blogging look easy. The entire look of your website is wonderful, let alone the content material!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

