Creator’s Incubator # 1


Welcome to the first ever Creator’s Incubator. Since it’s the inaugural edition, I thought it would be appropriate to give you a few behind the scenes stuff about my creative process.

Sparks:
Individual cartoons have their own set of sparks, so I thought I’d give you some of the everyday variety.
I like to surround myself with cartoon collectibles and cartoon art in the studio. It makes me feel at home.Here’s just a few samples from my home studio.

3

11

Five things that help me Create:
1. Reading. Newspapers, magazines, websites, billboards, t-shirts, movie posters, anything visual It’s the most important part of creating sports cartoons. After I read I let it soak in for a while.
2. Silence is golden for thinking up ideas. I can listen to music or CNN after I pencil the cartoon and I’m ready to ink, but not before.
3. Word play. I write down topics and free associate a visual metaphor for what it is I want to say in the cartoon. In my case it’s usually an opinion I have about a topic I’m drawing on.
4. Ink don’t think. The worst thing to do is force an idea. Ideas form when you’re most relaxed, even if you are under deadline. If I get really stuck I’ll put the subject I’m drawing about in the most outrageous situation I can imagine. Case in point. This Phelps cartoon.
drew0819
5. Bang my head up against the wall and hope that something besides hair comes out.

Creativational Quote of the day: An essential aspect of creativity is not being afraid to fail.
Edwin Land

Created on this date: 1963 – Beatles record “She Loves You” & “I’ll Get You”

The Rhino Recommends: This fantastic book about the founding of Pixar and the innovation and creativity it took to pull it all together.
pixarpic

There you have it. I hope you’ll join us here and at DrewLitton.com for the next edition of the Creator’s Incubator

4 Comments

  1. Mike,
    Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to share your own creative insight. I’m hoping this will become a community of Creators sharing ideas. Your Web Comic is awesome by the way!

    Reply

  2. Drew: Love your process…. very similar to mine. Also… love your toys ! An old Hanna Barbera fan like myself. But how did Fred and Barney get Blue Beards ?

    I haven’t really followed a webcomic before, but I love the Man From U.N.C.L.E. and your art style, so I’ll be checking yours out.

    Good luck. Looking forward to following your site and webcomic.

    Marty Qatani
    http://www.martytoons.com

    Reply

    1. Hi Marty. Want to come on the Incubator and share your process with everyone? Send me an e-mail of the details, a same of what you’re working on we’ll put it up. I so want this to be a creative co-op.

      Drew

      Reply

Leave a Reply

